09
Mar
07

FBI Spying Scandal

CNN is providing online headline coverage of the recent DOJ report on the FBI spying program (click here).  When even your own judicial oversight group thinks you are acting outside the law, you’ve got problems.

In one of those totally worthless online polls so beloved by news agencies, CNN asks “Are you afraid that the FBI is spying on you?”  I think they asked the wrong question.  I’m not worried that the FBI IS spying on me, I’m worried that they now CAN spy on me if they feel like it.  Most Americans, I think, understand that there are some justifiable security needs that may impinge at times on privacy.  However, most Americans also value their freedom from total government control over our personal liberty.  That is, after all, what the Constitution and Bill of Rights are all about.  It is ironic to me that, alone in the world,  we Americans have codified the right to personal liberty in our Constitution.  Our elected leaders swear an oath to this ideal.  Yet, we act as if nothing is wrong when this foundation document of our democracy is ignored and violated.

So I would have to answer “no,” I’m not afraid the FBI is spying on me– but a resounding “yes,” I think this  program  goes too far.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

0 Responses to “FBI Spying Scandal”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

